Rangers AFC

Football for Boys & Girls of All Ages in Bushy Park


Rangers A.F.C History

Rangers A.F.C was founded in 1962.  Eugene and Paul Skelly along with Gerry Taylor got together to form a Football Club for boys in the Terenure, Templeogue, Kimmage and Rathfarnham areas.

A pitch was provided in Bushy Park by Dublin Corporation and two teams were entered into the Dublin & District Schoolboys League in Divisions 13 B and 14 C. Success was immediate winning 14 C and Runners up in 13 B. The following season four teams were added and each subsequent year another team was added.

The founder members were fortunate in attracting high calibre managers to assist in managing and coaching the various teams.

Peter Woods,Eugene Gibney,Noel Quinn,Tony Guy,Theo Dunne and Noel Boyce ensured that Rangers were the most successful Club in Dublin during the sixties and mid seventies. In those years the club were busy winning all the major trophies on offer including the Lynch Cup 65,66,68,73 the O’Reilly Cup,  68 Referees Shield, Leinster Youths Cup 74 and All Ireland Challenge Cup 67.

The list of honours is too considerable to mention.

Many players have started their careers with Rangers before going on to greater success.We are proud of our record which includes Republic of Ireland Internationals Don Givens (Man Utd, Birmingham and Q.P.R) who is also the current Ireland U 21 Manager.

Kevin Moran (Man Utd, Blackburn Rovers) Gerry Ryan (Derby and Brighton). In fact the two former Rangers Team mates Kevin & Gerry played against each other in the 1983 F.A Cup Final between Man Utd and Brighton with United winning 4-0 after a replay as it finished 1-1 on the previous Saturday.

Pat Byrne (Leicester, Hearts, Shamrock Rovers), Pat was Captain of the great Shamrock Rovers 3 in  a Row team which also included former Rangers player John Cody who went on to play for Chelsea. Pat is a regular visitor to the Club and always makes time available for Coaching sessions and Presentations.

The Club has also had 3 Rugby Internationals in our ranks Tony Ward who was also a soccer Youth International with the Club, Mick Quinn and Eric Miller.

Former World Snooker Champion Ken Doherty also spent a year at the Club.

After the Clubs great successes there followed a quite period with the Club just staying in existence thanks to Joe Tyrell and Mick Keegan running the only remaining team in the Club. But for these two individuals the Club would not have survived.

In 1980 Reg Norman, a former player, set about rebuilding the Club and along with Christy Skelly and Mick O’Reilly they started the transformation.
Our current Treasurer and longest serving Club Member Dick Lynch along with Christy Norman, Noel Stokes, Billy Connors, John Dannaher and longest serving Manager at the Club, Mark Milligan (25 Years), started to get things moving again.
Summer Leagues and Coaching Courses for Managers were organised and also an annual Easter Trip to England.

The Club continued to expand and in 1990 the Club won the All Ireland U14 Goodson Cup and the Thunder Cup with Paul Skelly and Joe Tyrell at the helm.

The following 91/92 Season the Club won the only trophy that had eluded them by winning the F.A.I Youths Cup with Manager Mark Milligan and Assistants Eugene Skelly and Martin Dunne guiding them to a 4-0 final victory against St. Michaels Tipperary in a replay after a 1-1 draw in the original match.

In 1999 the Club set out on its first European adventure and won the Under 13 and 15 Paris Evelynes Cups with Mark Milligan and Robbie O’Shea as managers and the following year Mark’s Under 14s won the Mastricht Cup in Holland.

Since then the Club has gone on to win many Leagues and cups and were unlucky not to bring the F.A.I Youths Cup back in 2005/2006 Season when they where beaten in the final by Cork City 2-0 at Turners Cross again the managers were Mark Milligan and Robbie O’Shea and Coached by David Dunne.

Season 2007/2008 saw our return to the South Dublin Football League with two Under 11 Teams being entered, this resulted with the 11 A Managed by John Burke and coached by Hughie O’Byrne winning the League and Cup double and the 11 B managed by Jim Moran and Michael Murray winning the League.

Under current Chairman Michael O’ Tierney the Club has taken great strides over the last three years and are currently in negotiations with Dublin Corporation for the possibility of having an All Weather Facility which will be shared with the other Clubs using the Park.

U18s win 18th Premier DDSL Title

Rangers under 18s beat Cambridge in a hard fought game in bushy park yesterday  with a hatrick from Darragh Monks, Rangers took the lead after 10 mins and Cambridge equalised 10 mins later from a Fabulous free kick from 25 yards out.

The teams went in level at half time, 10 mins into the second half monks scored again out running the Cambridge defenders to slot home past the goalkeeper. Cambridge where not finished yet and equalised in the 60th minute, there followed a 15 min period where rangers where under severe pressure and had to defend for their lives however with 10 mins to go rangers went ahead again and then finished off the match with a 4th goal with two mins to go.

The under 18 B team finished off their season with a hard fought 2-1 win against Dundrum Athlethic to finish runners up in there league.